The Con

An Audio Noir

As podcasting expands, listeners are becoming more sophisticated. They want to know what is next for the audio medium, and are eager for fresh approaches. At On Air Fest, we created an interactive listening experience to engage and inspire the vanguard of audio makers and inspired listeners.


work x work collaborated with Zac Stuart-Pontier (Crimetown) to craft ‘The Con’ an interactive crime story starring actor Edgar Oliver. This site-specific story unfolded across multiple rooms of Wythe Hotel, carrying festival attendees on an immersive listening journey. Each chapter of ‘The Con’ engaged hidden props, historic hotel architecture, and the senses. Fully sound designed, scripted and accompanied by original music and branded signage, ‘The Con’ brought the true crime genre to life like never before.


True to its original form, ‘The Con’ is now presented as a four act podcast which you can listen to here:

With the scan of a QR code, guests could take in ‘The Con’ at their own pace, absorbing the story on an individual journey through Wythe Hotel. The Con unfolds across four acts, each staged in a different location in the historic building.

“the Con felt like being carried away. there were little moments of audio magic everywhere.”


“a new way of telling a story that’s completely immersive.”


‘The Con’ was designed uniquely for Wythe Hotel. The structure of the building, room features, and audio recorded on-site were woven into the crime story piping aloud and through guest headphones.

work x work founder/Creative Director Scott Newman and Crimetown’s Zac Stuart-Pontier debut ‘The Con’ at On Air Fest 2020.


Start your journey on ‘The Con’ by pressing play below…

Created by Zac Stuart-Pontier and work x work/On Air Fest.
Starring Edgar Oliver , Shelly Shenoy and Brian Vincent.
Inspired by “According to Plan” by Ray Darby
Directed by Zac Stuart-Pontier
Produced by Scott Newman
Music and Sound Design by Kenny Kusiak
Art Direction by Ray Marrero
Production support from Jimmy Tran
Original credit music is ‘Wait For You’ by Rosaleen Eastman
Special thanks to Peter Lawrence, Jemma Rose Brown, James Rasin and Emily Wiedemann

More of Our Work